Best bang for your buck besides gears? Exhaust questions too..

the98stang

Aug 12, 2005
Clovis, CA
I know you guys have heard this before, but I searched and couldn't really find a "best bang for your buck" thread. So what mods would you guys suggest (I already have 3.73 gears and a K&N FIPK). I want to stick with all motor, and no power adders. I was thinking about exhaust but I'm kind of new to that subject.

If I go with full exhaust, should I go with a X or H pipe (not off road because I need cats to pass CA emissions)? What are some good brands and combo's? And what is the difference between short and long tube headers as far as performance goes?

I'm just trying to find the best mods that are fairly cheap, to gain more HP (without shooting nitrous or going the S/C route). Please share some info!

Tanner

• Sponsors (?)

There's lots of threads on exhaust...several recent ones if you browse the last few pages of threads. Most exhaust combo's are similar HP gains. If you're in CA....you might have emissions problems with long tubes (LT's)....but they do offer more performance than shorty's.

Seems that there is no best bang for your buck on these cars. You want real power, it'll cost you several grand....you want a 10hp gain....it'll cost you several hundred. If you're just interested in 1/4 mile times get nitrous. Exhaust is always a good upgrade for power and sound!

Nothing is really gonna make a huge difference and keep you CA smog legal other than a poweradder.
But since you asked, H and xpipe are within a hp or 2 of each other get whichever you can afford and like the sound of. I believe some shorty headers are CARB approved. Underdrive pulleys some see decent gains there.
What I look at is avg. HP increase ( I look for several people or sources and the power they get) and then I look at the cost of the part and see if it is justified to me.
Of course Cams and a tuner seem to becoming increasingly popular.