Buying used mustang advice

FalconGuy016

Oct 26, 2004
Northern VA
Hey stangnet haven't been around here for years, or at least 2, it's nice to be back :p

I used to have an 04 GT, then a bear ran in front of it on a highway. Been having fun in an STi since but about to get rid of it for some practical reasons, but really because of the insurance... awful.

I'm looking for another 99-04, now they're gonna be probably 70,000+ miles in the good price range. I have ZERO experience buying cars above 40k miles and need some advice for important things to look for when buying one of these used. Right now I'm looking for accidents, how many owners, etc, but what I'm really trying to find signs for is hard use or plain abuse - I don't know where to start. Are there any major telltale signs I can see? Or not? Anything mustang specific?

Also for scheduled maintenance, I'm just going to look in the manual and ask them what has been done, but are there some things listed in there I shouldn't really bust balls over? Are there some that I really should?

One last thing, when I was around back when I had the impression the T3650 was superior to the T45, but google searches about it now seem to have mixed opinions, some very positive about the T45 over the T3650. I was gonna keep to 2002-2004 for the tranny, but if I'm wrong about that it'd open up a whole new price field for me and more money for mods :)

Thanks!!

• Sponsors (?)

Find one that is as stock as possible with the lowest miles you can afford.

When you get close to a deal, post the specifics here for review/discussion.

Reactions: 1 user
Look for leaks, listen for strang noise's, look for smoke, look underneth for rust.
If the interior shows abuse its a bad sign. Get the carfax for sure, it tells
you where the car has been and how many owners it has had as well
as any warrenty work that has been done.

Happy to see you want to come back to mustangs even though
a 2004 Subaru Impreza STi is a very nice vehicle to own.