Clear coat peeling in a small spot. Will Wet Sanding Help?

91LX_5L

Founding Member
May 13, 2002
British Columbia
Ok I was masking off around my fender so I could paint my inner fenders etc black to look all nice again, when I removed the masking tape a little chunk of clear cote peeled off about the size of a quarter. I tried chipping it away with my finger nail so it would be all flush, now I have a line about the size of a quarter a bit bigger of where you can notice that the clear cote has peeled. Now when I got my bumper and hood done he laied down a quick layer of clear on my fenders so it would match wicked. So I still have another few layers underneith and it looks just as shiny and good in that spot.

So to prevent it from peeling and spreading more I was thinking of wet sanding that area probay about 5x5" around the spot (about 1.5" x 1.5").

Will this work? How do I wetsand I have never done it before?

Also has anyone heard of or know anyone who has had their car wetsanded then another cote of clear sprayed all over then wetsanded again? I was thinking of doing that to just bring the shineyness back before I go for an entire new paint job, since my paint is still in wicked shape.

Thanks in advance!

• Sponsors (?)

like a soft pad or just a block of wood lol? I havent really done much bodywork before.

Like i said when i got my hood painted the guy added a extra layer of clear on both side front pannels to get it to match good. So its not the factory clear.

91LX_5L said:
like a soft pad or just a block of wood lol? I havent really done much bodywork before.

Like i said when i got my hood painted the guy added a extra layer of clear on both side front pannels to get it to match good. So its not the factory clear.
they sell a faom pad for sanding

If its nor factory,maybe it wasnt prepped roght or too think and didnt get the right adhesion