credit card recommendations

fivespeedsteed

Dirt-Old 20+Year Member
Oct 17, 2003
Richmond, VA
so im 21 and have no credit. what kinda card you guys recommend. wachovia said they can get me a card cause im a student with a 500 dollar limit. 500 dollar limit is what im looking for. paying it off wont be a problem and i know all about paying more than the minimum payment.

so chase, wachovia, what kinda card you guys like?

• Sponsors (?)

Unless you want to be owned by the creditor for the rest of your life stay away from them. i don't and wont have one. pay cash and never worry about your interest rate and keep that money in your pocket.
The only time you need to worry about having credit is when your buying a house, unless you save, buy a reasonable house that you can afford and pay cash. I have a good friend who got a card "just in case" and now those ass hats own him, he's so deep with them it will take years to dig out. another friend is paying over 200 a month in interest. best recommendation i can give is to pass on every offer for a credit card.

Don't listen to anything about credit cards being evil. Credit cards are the best thing in the world to improve your credit score. Revolving credit is looked at highly on your FICO because it's the easiest to get in trouble with. So if you use it wisely you are looked at as being responsible. I started off with a Cap1(aka Crap1) card with a 300$ limit(no credit history at all) and I got a CLI after having it for 6 months to $500. That was a few years ago and I've got a Marathon gas card(non visa) now as well. Going to try and get hooked in with a local credit union and get a card from them, then in a few years get a top tier card from one of the top banks. Most places suggest you have at LEAST 4 cards to help improve your credit score. You want to stay under the 10% utilization of the CL. That's why having a larger credit limit allows you to put more on the card without it hurting your score.