dashboard electrical question

drbobj67

Sep 22, 2006
The instruments lights on my dashboard are all out and I don't know if it is related but the cigarette lighter doesn't work. When I rotate the headlight switch, which is supposed to dim or increase the instrument lights nothing happers but the dome light does come on when I turn it all the way. But the headlight switch may still be the problem. I checked the fuses nothing is out. Any hints on where to start looking for the problem? I'm not an expert on reading wiring diagrams but I was going to start with the electic meter and start testing for power comming out of the headlight switch.

I have a extra auxillary cigarette lighter outlet it has two prongs on the back. What is the best way to wire it up? I was going to go right off of the fuse box, unless there is a better way to go.

• Sponsors (?)

headlight switch

As I mentioned I did check the fuses previously but I'll check them again.

I'm thinking that it's the switch. Is there a trick to taking it out. I tried some channel locks on the bezel. Does it screw off? I did not want to scratch up the bezel with the channel locks.

Attachments

• headlight switch.jpg
    headlight switch.jpg
    19.2 KB · Views: 389
Pull the knob to the ON position, and then press a small button on the flat side of the headlight switch by reaching up under the dash. The knob & shaft will then pull all the way out and off. You'll then see a '+' shape over where the shaft goes in. Use a large flathead screwdriver to unscrew this central piece. Then the bezel will come out from the front and the switch will drop down from the rear.

I figured that the + had something to do with it. I don't know why I did not check my shop manual first. But now if anyone else on the forum needs the info it will be there.