Dedicated Drag wheels/tires

I'd like to build a dedicated set of wheels/tires for drag racing.

My car is lowered 1.5" all around and so far I have the stock brakes but would like to upgrade them. I also still have the stock 3.31 gears and plan to go to 3.73's.

Does anyone have any suggestions for combos that hook really well and that would fit over my stock calipers? What are people using with upgraded brakes?

I'm a rookie when it comes to drag racing.

With the s/c, traction is definately a problem.

• Sponsors (?)

if i was gunna go with a set of drag wheels. i'd go with a set of like 15s.

i don't buy into the 20" drag tires. i feel like sidewall plays a huge part in the tire for traction.

go with a set of 3.5 inch wide welds up front with a spacer, and just grind the rear caliper a little bit and run a 8 inch wide weld in the back. go with like ET streets, or hoosier or similar drag tires, then front runners up front.

if i was gunna go with a set of drag wheels. i'd go with a set of like 15s.

i don't buy into the 20" drag tires. i feel like sidewall plays a huge part in the tire for traction.

go with a set of 3.5 inch wide welds up front with a spacer, and just grind the rear caliper a little bit and run a 8 inch wide weld in the back. go with like ET streets, or hoosier or similar drag tires, then front runners up front.

With 15's you have to relocate the sway bar don't you? Do you know makes a kit for that?

The cheapest way is a set of stock 17's with MT ET Streets 275/40-17. Bogart makes some custom 15s for our cars. I believe Holeshot does too. They'll run you over $1k just for all 4 wheels. Greg Weld was working on some 15's for our cars when he passed. As far as I know, they're still being worked on, but no ETA. With any 15", you'll need to relocate the rear sway bar.