Dyno'd my stang

Eos

Oh Heather Oh yeah... I want your pink taco
Jun 13, 2003
oklahoma
I dyno'd my stang today. The hp was like OUCH....142hp at about 3400 rpm's the torque was good at 240 at 2800 rpm's For some reason though it just dropped quick after 3500 rpm's. I'm guessing the engine I got was rebuilt to 79 5.0 specs :nonono: It had close numbers with that original engine. We are sure the problem is the stock exaust manifolds, the car cant breath and the cam is crappy. I was pretty disapointed. I was hoping for 200 hp. But atleast now I have a base and I have an idea of what I need to do first. I need headers!!! What can I get with a 5 speed tranny? :shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

Megan, get me some info on your dyno session. What gear was the pull made in? Did you get air/fuel readings? What brand dyno was it? Can you send me a scan of the graph? I do dyno tuning for a living and can help shed some light on your dyno session. :nice:

Hp

Geez Meg sorry to hear about your lack of power on your mustang. I would have loved to of seen your face when you found out that you were only pushing 142hp at the wheel. Its not the end of the world though. At least you have a MII and apreciate it, and give it the respect it diserves. Sounds like you have plenty to do in the future though. That will keep yuh busy.

Dan

the guy said there wasnt anything wrong with my air/fuel. I'm starting to figure out all about the heads cam, ect....We did the dyno in 3rd gear because it was pulling higher numbers and was just dropping off in 4th. Someone in my mustang club was going to sale me some 87-95 GT heads for 20 dollars hes a friend of mine and he said theres nothing wrong with them, i think i'll take them.