SN95 Engine rebuild kit for a stock 95 GT?

Mythrillium

Apr 4, 2018
I'll admit, I'm new to engine work and am looking to rebuild my engine before any serious modifications. My question is: What kit should I get if I want to do a full rebuild on it? I was looking on Summit and all those numbers mean nothing to me and was wondering if someone here could fill me in.

• Sponsors (?)

As far as I know, it shouldn't need any sort of machine work, but it also doesn't help that I don't have a second car to drive if I were to take it apart
If it’s your driver-maybe consider a junkyard explorer 5.0 for a rebuild. Then you can take all the time you need to go through it ,and would have the better heads etc

Reactions: 1 user
How many miles on the engine, why do you think it needs rebuilding? If you don't have alternate transportation then a rebuild is out of the question if you only have the weekend, a good used engine swap could easily be done in a weekend( and the knowledge pool necessary would be much less for a swap).

An engine rebuild is not something that you typically do over a day or two. As you are taking the block apart you need to exam the cylinder walls, piston skirts, rod and main journals on the crank. Most times this will involve some precision measuring tools.
Now, this is completely doable in your home garage, if you have th knowledge and tools to do it. Like stated above, most times some type of machine work will be needed during the rebuild.

It could be any of the following and maybe more:
- crank journals turned
-cylinders bored and/or honed
-mains align honed or bored
-deck resurfaced
-new cam bearings and freeze plugs installed
-heads decked
-valve job, valve guides
-springs checked