Engine teardown....

diablostang

Sep 21, 2004
Raleigh, NC
Ok, I'm to the point where I have the engine on stand, heads off, oilpan off... What next? Go ahead and unbolt pistons, crankshaft and just keep pulling it apart?

I need to take it and have a machineshop check the block, does it need to be completely dissassembled?

Any tips/things I need to know on dissasembly?

Sorry for all the questions, this is my first time. :p

Enginewoutoilpan.jpg

engineonstand.jpg

Attachments

• Enginewoutoilpan.jpg
    Enginewoutoilpan.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 93
  • engineonstand.jpg
    engineonstand.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 90
  • Sponsors (?)

If your taking to the machine shop, you will need to completely disassemble it, unless you pay them to do it. From your pics, I would say you next need to get a harmonic balancer puller and pull the balancer and timing cover. Then the timing chain, lifters, and cam. Oil pump and pickup need to go to. Then you can unbolt the rods one by one and pop the pistons out the top of the block. Be careful not to nick or damage any crank journels. Also, make a point to keep everything organized and note which pistons come out of which cylinder. (they should be numbered) , the rod caps need to go on the same way they came off, along with the main caps. Finally you can unbolt the crank and pull it out.

BTW, what happened to the motor? Looks like it's got some nice parts in it, H-beam rods, main studs, etc..

Yikes, that doesn't look good. The journals are the polished surfaces on the crank that the bearings ride on. A scratched or nicked journal can wipe out a bearing in no time. Are you running a power adder? Piston failure is usually cause by detonation of some sort. Not enough fuel, too much timing, etc.

Yeah, it wasn't good.

No power adders, not sure what happened.. It was chipped and custom dynotuned. I know the car was driven HARD though, not sure how many miles on the engine, it traded hands a couple times before it came to me.