exhaust help

red05v6stang

Sep 10, 2005
alright guys, i didn't want to take away from the exhaust thread started already. my question is, would it be smart going to 3 inch piping? im thinking a 3 inch x pipe and the 3 inch 40 series mufflers. would this cause problems with heat on certain parts under the car compared to the readily available 2.5 inch parts? is it a whole lot cheaper to run the 2.5? If I do this, I will probably run the cobra cats just because they will open it up a little more, any problems there? what should i look to as a ballpark figure on this? for 3 inch and for 2.5. form the videos i have seen the exhaust sounds good, but i want a really low tone. any help is appreciated. maybe i can run cobra cats, gt pipes, and that x pipe yall are talkin about with some 40 series mufflers, or is there a better muffler for a low tone?

• Sponsors (?)

I'm not an expert and still learning, but I have been reading the exhaust threads extensively. Everything I read says the 3 inch pipe conversion is not worth it. Leave the 2.5 and go with a H or X pipe to get the lower tone. I also heard that headers help the sound tremendously. MSP and Afixer have good setups, check with them. I'm running 2.5 pipes with magnaflows and now looking at a MAC power chamber. Also, if you can afford the cobra high flow cats get them, I hear great things on these conversions.

Given all this I would check with some of the other people on this forum, they are more subject matter experts and I can't speak from expereince cause I am still working on my exhaust.

Check the "hey msp i got exhaust parts" thread. Ton of good info there.

Good Luck.

3" pipes are too big on the GT unless they're blown and running ridiclious power levels...

2.5" on the v6 is perfect imo. Its a tad wide for stock, but if you plan on doing ANY kind of performance mod its perfect -youll never need to go any bigger. 3" is just too too wide, not enough backpressure and velocity.