First Build

Mario88

Dec 14, 2014
Hey all! I'm doing my first build and have a ton of questions as I'm a noob!
I'm building a 88 gt and so far have the following:
Trick flow twisted wedge fast as cast, bbk cold air, 97 explorer upper and lower, trick flow roller rockers, 24lb injectors, ford racing plug wires... All this is waiting for a throttle body, exhaust including headers and a a Megasquirt with o2 sensors as for I have speed density set up. I was told a speed density can make more hp and less headache than a mass air conversion, opinions or experiences on a density vs mass air? Also was told the made in Mexico factory blocks have a 700hp rating, truths? If so do you know of ways to ID what I have? Do you think a 65mm tbody will be a good size? I'm targeting 375-400hp. I'm new and inexperienced so I'm asking in efforts to learn and hope you guys will go easy!
Thanks stangers!
Mario

• Sponsors (?)

Mexico blocks, if the urban myth were true, would not be roller cam because of their vintage. Your parts should not overtax a stock block that is built to specs. If you are going with an aftermarket TB, a 70mm unit with minimal intake match porting would be good. If you are doing a JY swap, 65mm will be ok.
A stock style mass air conversion will compensate for your changes better than a stock speed density computer will. But if you do not have to pass emissions, the Megasquirt system is powerful. Are you ready to program it yourself?

Reactions: 1 user