first time potential mustang owner - what to look for when buying used?

paradigm

Jul 18, 2007
Hey all,
I have been keeping my eye on new edge 99-04 GT 5-speed mustangs for a while now. I am still a complete newbie to the mustang scene, but would like to know any tips when looking at these cars? any common known problems? anything to watch out for? I am trying to aim for a car with around 60k miles or less. Ideally I would like an 03-04 but those are ususally out of my budget (also out of my budget are Cobras and Mach 1's). Should I stay away from the early cars (99-00)?

I have owned a bunch of Nissan Maximas and one G35 coupe, and I would really like to experience some V8 torque (as well as that bueatiful sound) for a change.

Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

Use the same approach when purchasing any other used vehicle. Do your homework first (CARFAX or similar, check past recalls/TSBs, read old car review articles, etc).

Visit the "stickied" threads at the top of our "4.6L tech" section for some of the more common Mustang service issues (ie - TR-3650 trans, although 99s and 00s came with the T-45 trans, IIRC).

It doesn't hurt to bring along a trustworthy friend or somebody in your family who is a car enthusiast when you travel to inspect the car. Having access to past service/maintenance records is also a plus. Test drive the car. Avoid buying a car sight unseen, if possible.

Getting the car checked out by a mechanic or mustang/speed shop you are familiar with doesn't hurt either (just don't let them charge too much for their "inspection").

Be patient ! Don't get overly attached to the first low-milage '99-'04 you come across - keep your options open while searching through the classifieds.

G'luck in your quest. :cheers:

When ever I purchase a stang, do the usual inspection that you would do to any car. Then comes the fun part lol. Rev her up and pop that clutch and make sure BOTH tires spin :) Check the torque boxes and make sure they look new.