Flabbergasted

Banditlead

Founding Member
Sep 26, 2002
CT
I am utterly astounded by this car sometimes.
I'm not complaining, I knew that when I bought this car, it was going to be a basket case by virtue of its age (And previous owner), and I bought it knowing full well I am not a good mechanic. (I bought intending to learn, I hate having to rely on other people to fix my car)
So today, I am replacing the intake manifold... go to close the hood when I am done...
and the HOOD LATCH HANDLE, the piece behind the grill in front of the Radiator, somehow broke.
So, I am shaking my head, just wondering how in the hell that happened. This car never stops amazing me. Does that happen to anyone else? They go to fix one thing, and some random other unrelated part just breaks?

• Sponsors (?)

I want to someday build up but don't yet have a Stang (hence the screen name); but I've had and loved a few old cars and trucks. My current Generic Chevy Truck was the first vehicle I'd ever driven off the new car lot; but that was 14 years and a lot of very hard miles ago, and I'm starting to feel your pain on a regular basis - which really sucks.

Your problem is that you anthropomorphised your Stang - big word (I almost had to look up it's spelling, and I only think I got it right) which means you've given your car "human" traits and weaknesses. You simply cannot consider a car that you "love" to be a living breathing organism.

Because it's not.

It's a collection of living, breathing organisms; and when you massage one of those organisms, the others get jealous and so they start acting up! :p Worse, this will be an ongoing occurrance; until you've finally built up a "brand new" 30-odd-year-old car. Of course by then, that water pump which was the first thing you replaced will have worn out and will break (again) right after you've hung the new rear bumper; which was the very last thing you had to replace to make the car "brand new". And you get to start all over again :rolleyes: