Forced Induction Vs. Na Build...

Brian8891

Apr 7, 2017
Funny, I've always wanted a supercharger and run an insane amount of Horsepower and use it for an everyday car and this would be my chance.
My wife gave me the green light, as long as I didn't do anything "COMPLETELY" stupid I could get one next year (and to make sure it's what I really wanted). Thinking about it, I'm leaning more towards the NA Build.

Why would I not go Forced Induction...
Forced induction (Roush/Whipple). (The two front runners) / Possible Procharger.
670hp. I've never driven a supercharged car.

1. Fun factor. I think that running that much power takes away from mashing on the gas as opposed to an NA build.

2. Maintenance of forced induction. More crap can go wrong. Reliability which I'm sure is amazing, but again I have no experience with them except on youtube where someone is constantly breaking something.

3. I saw a couple builds of running a GT350 intake, (pretty much using Fords Power Pack 3) and running the 1/4 mile down into the 11's. Forced Induction cars are running lower times, but I don't know by how much, I can only go off of youtube videos for now and I've seen 10's.

4. Paired with 3.73 rear end, I'm already going to be running into traction issues and I think it'll be paired nicely with the NA build.

5. Weight the super charger adds

6. Resale. I think the NA build is worth more to me down the road. I personally don't go looking for used Forced Induction cars because I think people sell them because they are starting to have a problem with them. I know there are good people out there selling good cars with no mechanical issue, but it's a small belief that I have when looking at used cars.

Those are pretty much the reasons why I wouldn't want forced induction. I only want a supercharger because...

1. I've never had one before..

2. It's completely awesome to pop the hood and see a supercharger.

3. Insane amount of horsepower.

Things done to the car.