Foxbody Irs Alignment

sab24711

Aug 20, 2009
hey I have recently installed a cobra irs into my 88 gt. Just did the alignment at a friends shop. We had to enter a 04 cobra so the machine will register the rear sensors. We used that to align the rear, the camber was spot on just had to adjust the toe. My problem is now my right rear tire rubs.

I’m just wondering how others Fox irs owners adjusted their rear ends ;)

• Sponsors (?)

That's the way I've been doing it for the last 10+ years. The fox bodies aren't really exact from left to right. I guess Ford used a wide margin for body alignment specs.

Do you have the correct 45 or 50mm offset wheels on the rear of your car ?

What size tire....and what size rim ?

That's the way I've been doing it for the last 10+ years. The fox bodies aren't really exact from left to right. I guess Ford used a wide margin for body alignment specs.

Do you have the correct 45 or 50mm offset wheels on the rear of your car ?

What size tire....and what size rim ?

I have 18x9 45mm offset Saleen wheels for a 10-15 mustang. Running a 245/40r18 tire?? I think, I need to double check that.

Normally the 18x9 have only 30mm offset but I bought a 10” wide rim that has 45mm off set and cut it down to 9” so it would fit.

I might measure the inside of the wheel in comparison to the wheel well and see if I can remove some of the hub face. Try to get the wheel to sit further inside.

Last edited:
Hmmm, I have not done a proper alignment on my car since my IRS install. Maybe I should do that this spring.

@sab24711 What wheel & tire size are you running? Offset? Have you rolled your fenders?