Fox Free Aluminium Roller Heads.

88mustang on a budget

I wear daisey dukes tank top and boots for work
Jan 25, 2016
Hello guys and gals.. I just scored a pair of aluminium hears with rocker roller arms. You see i had this privacy fence given to me. In hopes that i would one day have a fenced in back yard.... Lol yeah it sat in my garage for 2 years taking up valuable room my 88 could take up. A man wanted it and had these heads he didnt want. So we traded.. Now after all that long pointless rambling i have a question. How can i tell if these are any good. I know nothing about cylinder heads. Im very new to cars. But i love them. Im addicted. I found out i have an 87 truck motor block in my 88 gt so not the 50 ho i was told it was.. But i digress.. Help me figure out if i have good rollers and heads and valves if you can. The videoa i watch are just confusing.

• Sponsors (?)

The only pics i have at the moment idk what to take a pic of so just request or point me to the right places
received_1081947935177993.jpeg
received_1081947978511322.jpeg

The heads do not have a large hole in the flat area where the accessory drive brackets mount. That means the heads have no smog pump passages. If you do not live in an area where there is emissions testing, that is not a problem.

This is what I am talking about; notice the red circle on the face of the head.

1592206551_61249cacf1.jpg

Last edited:
We won't be able to tell you from looking at them in pictures. At first glance they appear to be a cheaper head, like a patriot, procomp or sve. The best bet is to have them looked over by a machine shop.

You will most likely need a milling, valve job and springs at minimum (depending on cam), along with a good cleaning. At worst, they could need seals, guides, valves and seats. If they were free, take them to be checked out.

Joe

Reactions: 3 users