Fuel Backing Up!!!??have Already Replaced Filler&grommet, Very Important I Get Help Asap!

00/04/3.9Stang

Feb 1, 2014
Alright, so I'm new to this.. Names Mike. I have a 2000 Mustang and just replaced the whole filler neck and grommet. I go to fill it up, and no more than $1.50 in, the fuel starts backing up all the way out of the top of the filler! before I changed it, I noticed the grommet could use replacing, but also that the fuel neck itself was rotting out. I figured this was the reason that fuel was backing up/shutting off pump/leaking.. Now I notice that there's obviously some kind off back pressure or something not allowing the fuel to flow into the tank.. took me like 3 minutes to get $5 in it!!? sensor??? shut off switch/valve???? some type of blockage/something clogged?? idk, need help asap

• Sponsors (?)

Visibly they looked fine.. Do you know where the lines lead to? I can't recall, but none of them go over the tank I believe. Otherwise I was worried at first that I may pinch something putting the tank back up, but I'm pretty sure I noticed it was nothing but wiring running across the top. I don't see why they would, but do these lines ever get clogged for any particular reason? Also, I haven't changed the fuel filter yet because I wanted to get all new clips for the lines, but I shouldn't be having filling problems if it were a bad/clogged filter? Even then, wouldn't I notice a bad filter in performance? it never stalls, and it idles fine.