Fuel Pump Fuze Blowing Help!

jacklane322

Aug 10, 2014
I am new to stangnet and have an issue. I was driving fhe other day and my car died. It would crank but not start. I check the inertia switch in the trunk but wasnt tripped. Found a fuel pump fuze blown. Swap the fuze and tfied to start the car and it blew again. Towed it home and unplugged the fuel pump to see if tbat was blowing it. Turned the key on where the fuel pump should prime and the fuze did not blow but when I tried to start the car it blew. Im at a loss. Is it the ccrm because the fuel pumpnrelay is integrated or a bad pump or grounded wire! I check voltage and am getting .8 volts when the ignition is on and stays there when cranked. Im confuzed, I can do a 32v swap but cant figure this out. Can anyone help me!!? Or has anyone had this issue? The vehicle is a 97 gt

• Sponsors (?)

On many 98 and older Mustangs there is an error in the owner's manual. The fuel pump and PCM fuse are backwards. So you may be blowing the PCM fuse instead. One way to find out is to attempt to connect an ODB2 scanner. If the scanner fails to communicate it might indicate the PCM isn't being powered.

For the 96-98 model year Mustangs one of the more common reasons for blowing a PCM fuse is an over load in the O2 heater circuit. One of the more common reasons is O2 pigtails touching hot exhaust after an exhaust upgrade. If not able to locate an obvious wiring harness damage with a visual inspection, consider disconnecting all (4) O2 sensors and see if this stops the fuse from blowing.

And i heard that the fuzes were labeled wrong but i would have thought if it were the pcm them the car wouldnt crank or anything. im at a loss right now and dont want to just start throwing parts at it. i think im going to check the o2 pigtails and if i dont have any results im going with a fuel pump.