gas mileage per tank help

Hey im new to the mustang scene. My car (listed in sig) get between 140-170 miles per tank of gas. I dont have a check engine light so i dont think that its o2 sensors. also i can smell that the car is running rich. other than that can you guys think of any other things that can be causing the car to suck down gas this badly. BTW im not driving it hard. sorry if this has been posted before and thanks for the help

• Sponsors (?)

my old 04 with 4.30 gears in perfect condition saw 150-175 with spirited city only driving. It did a little better once I got rid of the 4 cats..

My current 98 with 1 dead cylinder and another 1/2 dead and 4.10 gears (check engine light on as well) gets 175 per tank.

(btw, a tank is full to 1/4 to me.) I ran the 98 240 miles the other day and was worried about running out and finding another filling station.

im pretty sure that my car still has the stock gears, which i believe are 3.27. i bought this car used so i dont really know the extent of all the mods that have actually been done. but ive read that other people have been breaking 200 miles a tank easily and have much more mods done to their cars

Doesn't sound like ur too far off. U sure ur taking it easy on the shifts? I myself am a spirited driver and only start to worry when I don't break 150. Also the type/brand of fuel will effect u. Here in MO they are mandated to use 10% ethanol and that will hurt mileage a bit.

pretty sure im taking easy shifts...between 2-3k as for fuel in runnin on 87 from either an exxon or mobil station. and idk if it has any ethanol but right now im at around a 1/4 tank left and have already done 134 miles. my car is definatly running rich because you can smell raw gasoline in the exhaust. also try n get it into 5th gear as soon as possible