Engine Generator to Alternator conversion-belt issue (Pictures attached)

64vert

May 4, 2019
South Carolina
Hello, all. I have been working on converting the original generator in my 64.5 Mustang (260 engine) to a one wire alternator. (Don't worry purists, I am going to rebuild the orignal generator and keep for posterity:).

I have everything lined up, but can't get the belt around the alternator pulley. I have created as much room as I can with the new alternator (Pictured) but can't see where to get any more room to get the built over the alternator and then tighten everything back up. I have intentionally left the bolts at the top loose so I have as much room as possible to get the belt over the pulley. I have never done this exchange before and I am sure I am missing something, but can't figure out what it is! Can someone give me a few tips that I can try? The old generator and the new alternator are the same size, so that isn't the problem. Any advice appreciated!

Thanks,

64vert

Attachments

• 1964.5 Alternator Pic 1.JPG
    1964.5 Alternator Pic 1.JPG
    299 KB · Views: 307
  • 1964.5 Alternator Pic 2.JPG
    1964.5 Alternator Pic 2.JPG
    173.7 KB · Views: 196
  • Sponsors (?)

Hello, all. I have been working on converting the original generator in my 64.5 Mustang (260 engine) to a one wire alternator. (Don't worry purists, I am going to rebuild the orignal generator and keep for posterity:).