Gt40 egr issues upper/lower

Noob here to the forums but I’m trying... lol
I inherited a lot of 302 parts, motors (non ho and ho)heads, gt40 stuff and now I’m piecing it all together finally. I have a complete gt40 motor from a 2001 explorer that has no egr port on the lower intake but the freshly powder coated gt40 upper i have does have the egr passage. What’s a guy to do? If I slap the two together and don’t run the external egr crap will it be ok?

• Sponsors (?)

In your opinion, is there an advantage to running the egr? I was hoping it was as simple a block off plate. Thx for the advice

It's not so much advantage/disadvantage as it is ease of tuning your combo to run the best.

Highly modified engine running an aftermarket ECU? Delete. Stock a9x processor with simple HCI and a tune...someday? Might be best to keep the egr functional.

Of course plenty have deleted it without issue. Other questions to ask are do you need to pass a sniffer at all? Do you care much about fuel economy (egr helps with cruise fuel economy). You can also get a custom tune to remove it from the a9x logic

Let me put it another way. Ported Cobra gt40 intake, tfs170s, custom cam, a9l processor for my car..keeping the egr. If/when I go megasquirt...I will delete

Last edited:
@Mustang5L5 thank you for your reasonable and well thought out answer. The only things I can add is to expand on the legal and stock computer issues.
If it is on the street, the pollution controls have to be there by Federal law. Just because no president has yet required enforcement in all states, all it would take is a bee in a President’s bonnet. With an executive order, every car with pollution controls, every state, all checked and fined if not right. It’s not likely to happen for the next two years, but it might happen.