Gt40p Roller Rocker Choice

sen2two

I've been lubing and pulling it all morning
Jul 18, 2013
So I'm setting up my gt40p heads and I am deciding between 1.6 and 1.7 roller rockers.

I have an e303 cam which has a .498" lift. With the 1.7 rr's, lift will increase to .529". I also have the gt40 upper and lower intake with 65mm TB as well as 1 3/4" MAC Long tubes. I am also porting the heads as well as my upper and lower intake. I do not plan on shifting past 6000 rpm in fear of splitting my block.

Will my set up breath enough to make the 1.7 rr's worth the cost?

Ps. I am coming from the rotary engine world so I am still learning cam tech. Where does lift actually benefit the rpm band? Or is it better everywhere since it let's more air in?

• Sponsors (?)

Also, the car does have nitrous on it. I only spray a 65 shot at the moment. But I plan to at least double that.

Basically, I am wagering the cost of roller rockers vs. the cost of milling the heads and trying to figure out where my money is better spent.

The bottom end is a completely stock 91 302.

Can you elaborate on why you would vote for the 1.6 rockers?

I plan on checking my PTV clearance when I do the swap. But after a lot of searching, there are quite a few people already using this set up with success.

Success referring to it working. Not referring to it being the best choice for the best results. Which is what I would like to find out.

I vote 1.6RR's too. If you bought the car that way, or got the combo super cheap, then go ahead and get the 1.7's

But generally, its a better practice to control lift with camshaft selection, not rocker selection.

Why on earth did yo go with the 1 3/4" Long tubes? Did you get a deal on them or something? Waaaay more header than you'll ever use with a set of GT40's.