Forced Induction Head Gasket Help Needed

madspeed

Colonel Mustard
Founding Member
Nov 29, 1999
a van down by the river
Welp guys....Finally tore off the passenger side header to replace what I thought was a blown header gasket. Exhaust gasket looked fine, but started cleaning up the surfaces to use some copper rtv in place of a new gasket, as recommended by many others who are boosted. While I was cleaning the surfacrs, I saw a small puddle form under the car. Upon investigating, I found this...

IMG_20130923_163440_zps6df31b36.jpg

sooooo, what head gaskets are recommended for a mildly boosted 333? And, is it necessary to replace both? Checked over the drvera side real good and all seams well. After all these years, believe it or not this is my first time down this road, so I will rely on your input.

Setup is, stock block 333, e brock performer rpm heads, 9.6:1 compression. What ya'll got for me??

@Rick 91GT @84Ttop

• Sponsors (?)

My first question is why has the head gasket blown? When taking this apart I would have the deck surface checked to ensure it is straight. In an application such as yours I would typically use a Felpro 10112. Almost acts like a fuse if something were to go wrong in the tune up or if you leaned it out banging the rev limiter all the time (see this all the time, lol). the gasket blows and simple fix, no melted parts. On the other hand, if it were for me personally I would run an MLS gasket, just know that the awesome sealing power of these gaskets do not forgive your tuneup and are not rev limiter friendly. You will melt parts done instead of a simple failure. It really depends on what direction you are going with the car. Unfortunatly I've never seen shiny head gaskets ;). If this is mostly a driver then I wouldn't hesitate to just use a standard gasket. While I have done just one side I would recommend you do both. I mean another hours work for piece of mind would be worth it IMHO.