Heel-toe downshifting techniques

metroplex

Sep 7, 2003
SE MI
Let's hear some of your heel-toe downshifting techniques: How are you using your right foot to control the brake and throttle?

I wear size 11-12 shoes and find it difficult to find a position where I have great brake pedal feedback/control AND be able to blip the throttle. My normal driving position is to rest my right heel on the floorboard.

• Sponsors (?)

I still dont understand why this is necessary. Admittedly, I have no experience with racing, so I need to be educated. Why cant you just let off the clutch at the point that the downshift is not going to be so hard, or at the point that you are back to accelerating? As an example, say I am going from 80mph to 20 mph. I could shift from 3rd to 2nd at 60mph, which would require a throttle blip. Or I can just rely on the brakes until I hit 20mph, and then just let of the clutch. Do you gain significant advantage by putting it in gear sooner? I guess what I am saying is, what is so bad about keeping the clutch to the floor while braking?

For normal driving on the street, I would agree with you. Heel-toe downshifting seems to be the only way to properly brake before corners and keep the engine operating within the powerband.

The Audi Directshift gearbox, Porsche Dopplekeplung, and other dual-clutch manual transmissions and the upcoming 370Z's manual systems all prevent the need for the 3 pedal dance since they blip the throttle and/or apply the clutch automatically.

For normal driving on the street, I would agree with you. Heel-toe downshifting seems to be the only way to properly brake before corners and keep the engine operating within the powerband.

The Audi Directshift gearbox, Porsche Dopplekeplung, and other dual-clutch manual transmissions and the upcoming 370Z's manual systems all prevent the need for the 3 pedal dance since they blip the throttle and/or apply the clutch automatically.