Hello Stangnet - Newbie here!

zehnderm

Aug 3, 2007
Hello all, I'm a new owner and new to this forum so I'm going to need a lot of help! Here's the story of my car:

My father recently passed away and I inherited his 65 coupe that had been sitting up on blocks in his garage in California for the past 25 years. It was my dad's bachelor car, mom and dad's car on their honeymoon and the car my brother and I rode around in as kids. Its an inline 6 with a 3 speed manual transmission and is 100% stock. Its not the biggest, baddest mustang but it has a LOT of good memories to me and in reverence to my father I want to get it running/looking like it did when he had it new.

I hauled it to the Midwest and had a very trusted semi-retired mechanic get it running again for me. He replaced virtually every plastic/rubber part, put in new brakes, added a brake booster, new battery, rebuilt the cylinder head and valve seats, did a ton of other work on the engine, new fuel tank and lines, fuel pump, tires, etc, etc, etc. I runs wonderfully now (it still could use some new shocks and have some transmission work done) and brings a massive smile to my face when I drive it around the neighborhood.