Help me understand gearing (total newbie to RWD and domestics).

paradigm

Jul 18, 2007
Can someone please help me understand gearing, as I am totally new to domestics and RWD's (current nissan fwd fanboy).
I see a lot of people talking about upgrading their "gearS" to 3.73's and 4.10s. Does this reduce the final drive ratio's, such that each gear is "shorter" and acceleration is faster? What is the stock ratio on a 99-04...2.73?

And where is this modification made? In the rear differential?

Sorry about the foolish questions, but I do not know anything about RWD domestics.

Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

Newbie questions are always welcome.
Yeah, the ring and pinion is in the rear differential. It's a complex swap, needing some specialized tools. Expect to pay around $200 for labor alone.
The results are huge though. Acceleration is greatly improved. Stock final drive ratio is, I believe, 3.27 for the SN-95. Most will tell you 4.10s are ideal. I'd agree. I have both 3.73 and 4.10 (in our 2 GTs) and I wish both had 4.10. 3.73 certainly helps, but 4.10 is perfect. With the tall overdrive gear (on manual transmissions), you can still cruise and get decent mileage.

Can someone please help me understand gearing, as I am totally new to domestics and RWD's (current nissan fwd fanboy).
I see a lot of people talking about upgrading their "gearS" to 3.73's and 4.10s. Does this reduce the final drive ratio's, such that each gear is "shorter" and acceleration is faster? What is the stock ratio on a 99-04...2.73?

And where is this modification made? In the rear differential?

Sorry about the foolish questions, but I do not know anything about RWD domestics.

Thanks