HELP! What are the "run in" limits for 64 1/2 belhouse?

CPOWoodyUSNRet

Oct 17, 2010
I'm am a novice here so please bear with me everybody.

I have a 1964 1/2 block and it's a 289ci engine with a 5 bolt bell housing and a 10 inch clutch. My 4 speed transmission is capable of accomodating BOTH the 5 bolt or 6 bolt pattern bell house. We are ready to drop the rebuilt engine back intot he car but before stabbing the engine we need to set the "run in" or "dial in" limits for the bell house for that set up. I think my transmission is a Borg Warner T10 but I'm not sure. My mechanic says the "run in" and/or "dial in" is currently set at 10 thousandths. I don't know if "run in" and "dial in" are the same things so I'm sorry for not knowing enough about this to explain it properly if they are different term for different parts of the bell housing. I have to say though that I'm sure learning a lot lately about my old pony. Can anyone help me out with this? It might be better if you contact my mechanic Todd (he's also my best friend) at his email address directly with any answers or questions since he's far more qualified to ask the question than me. His email address is [email protected]. I will also check back here soon or you can email me at [email protected] with the answer, assuming I haven't confused everyone by now that is. Thanks for helping out a broken old sailor.

• Sponsors (?)

Hey shipmate. Page 161 of the 2010 Ford Racing Catalog has an excellent description of this procedure. However, it's extremely unlikely that a factory cast bellhousing would be misaligned. Offset dowel pins are available to correct such problems, should they occur.

I was hoping to get the bellhouse run in spec limits on the forum.