Help with codes, please!

46defense

Founding Member
Jun 25, 2002
Sanford Fl.
Ok, here goes, Years ago I had a light and checked the codes. I don't remember for sure what they were but they definately had something to do with the EGR. I replaced the egr valve and that didn't seem to get rid of the light so I changed the switch or whatever it is right by or on the egr valve. I unhooked the battery for a while and then I had no light. Fixed! $100 total. Everything was fine until about 3 years ago when I installed my PMS. The light came back on. I ran the codes and got the same ones that i had before. I didn't know what was going on but decided that I didn't want to spend the $100 again because I just had and didn't figure anything could be wrong with my egr stuff because it was basically brand new. The car sat for the better part of two years after moving to Florida and driving my new 01 gt. I traded the 01 in on my wifes new car and I've been driving the car now for a couple of months. The light has been on constantly the whole time. The day after I finally bought my own Actron code reader the light decided to start going on and off at times but is still mostly on all the time. I've just noticed it going on and off a couple of different times. I just bought an Innovate wide band and before installing it I wanted to see if I could finally get rid of the check engine light first. I ran the koeo codes and got a 31 and a 96. 31 is related to the egr and the 96 says thermactot air sytem problem-right (passenger) side air flow will not bypass, or fuel pump circuit failure, or high speed fuel pump relay circuit failure. I didnt run the koer test yet for one because it says to turn off all electrical loads and my electric fan runs whenever the key is on. I guess I can just unplug it at the fan? that shouldn't bother anything should it? Anyway, anybody got any idea what it could be with the air thermactor? I just replaced a hose when I changed my headers a couple weeks ago. I