Help With Electrical

Foxfirst846

Jan 24, 2017
ok I'm still learning all this... Can someone help... Key on engine off.. When I turn my distributor I hear a click and then the fuel pump cycles... All my engine compartment grounds are good... Advice??

• Sponsors (?)

ok I'm still learning all this... Can someone help... Key on engine off.. When I turn my distributor I hear a click and then the fuel pump cycles... All my engine compartment grounds are good... Advice??
That is perfectly normal.

The fuel pump runs when the PIP sensor in the distributor sends a pulse to the computer; no pulse and the fuel pump does not run.

That prevents the engine from being flooded when you turn the ignition to run but don't crank the engine. The pulse signals the computer to turn the fuel pump relay on for 2-3 seconds.

Once the RPM increases past a certain point, the pulses become a constant on signal that is sent to the fuel pump relay.

So that's a sign my pickup sensor in distributor is functioning correct. Right?
That is perfectly normal.

The fuel pump runs when the PIP sensor in the distributor sends a pulse to the computer; no pulse and the fuel pump does not run.

That prevents the engine from being flooded when you turn the ignition to run but don't crank the engine. The pulse signals the computer to turn the fuel pump relay on for 2-3 seconds.

Once the RPM increases past a certain point, the pulses become a constant on signal that is sent to the fuel pump relay.

What seems to be the problem? Cranks but no start, runs rough, just fiddling with stuff to see how it works?
Tell us what the symptoms are and we can point you in the right direction.
Unlike the goverment we really are here to help, but we do require an audit of any modifications done.