hi all. new to mustangs, but picked up 2011 5.0 GT

yasuro

Aug 4, 2010
i came from porsches, but wanted something more. really like the new V8 tech so after a test drive i traded in my 2001 911 for a 2011 5.0 GT Premium. i picked it up today.

hope to learn from this board as i'm a total newb and want to get to modding soon.

4861398211_811162bc35_b.jpg

4862019916_088c762284_b.jpg

4862020358_16baee09e1_b.jpg

• Sponsors (?)

Welcome i myself am new to the forum also but im waiting on my 2011 GT, i got about 4 more weeks to go until it arrives. You will enjoy the hell out of this car this is my fifth mustang ive had two 1990's one a lx 5.0 and the other a gt 5.0 which had 4.10's alot of fun lol a 2001 cobra and a 2004 GT. Loved everyone of them. enjoy i will post pics as soon as mine comes in.

....an '08 Bullitt. I love it and do not miss my flat six.

Welcome and have fun.

BTW, I'm 68 years old and have been through many P-cars and THIS car takes me back and brings a smile.

that was part of the reason i traded it in. i had increasing anxiety over the IMS bearing problem or D-chunk problem. did not really enjoy the idea of a $15-20k repair bill.

So how does the Mustang compare to the old 911? A few more months and vortech will probabaly have its blower kit ready, should be about all the mods youll need.

after putting on a few miles on the car i find myself intoxicated with the power. also a few highway ramps later, i find that the handling is pretty close to my old 911. i sit higher than on my 911 so that takes some getting used to, but the mustang still handles flat and level. very impressive. also the mustang is only 200 lbs heavier than my old 2001 911 C4, which is quite an achievement and it shows in the handling.

clutch is VERY light. lighter than my brother's 2009 G37S even. the porsche clutch is VERY heavy. almost truck like, so the mustang's clutch is a surprise. it takes some getting used to.