HIding wires! Can I use industrial strength velcro to attach my TFI Heat sink?

Pokageek

Jun 10, 2005
MA, USA
Ok, so I am iding wires. Ca I use ind strength velcro to attach the heat sinkto the inner fenderwell plastic liner to hide it?..OR do heat sinks HAVE to be attached to metal?

• Sponsors (?)

Well, plastic doesn't conduct heat NEAR as much as metal, so velcro'ing a heat sink would probably defeat the purpose of putting on the heat sink in the first place.

Also, the point of a heat sink is to Draw heat away from what your attaching it to, plastic doesn't get very hot, if it did, it'd melt. So attaching a heat sink to plastic seems pointless.

Then again i'm a computer technician who knows just a little about cars, so my input is more heavily derived from my foundation of computer education rather than automotive. Either way, with heat sinks, the same principles should apply.

Hope I helped

-Will

Well, plastic doesn't conduct heat NEAR as much as metal, so velcro'ing a heat sink would probably defeat the purpose of putting on the heat sink in the first place.

Also, the point of a heat sink is to Draw heat away from what your attaching it to, plastic doesn't get very hot, if it did, it'd melt. So attaching a heat sink to plastic seems pointless.

Good point but I believe he's moving the module inside the fender which will reduce the temperature that is exposed to. I would still keep the TFI in the heat sink though. I ran my car one time with the TFI out of the heat sink and in the engine compartment and the car barely ran when it got hot.

Good point but I believe he's moving the module inside the fender which will reduce the temperature that is exposed to. I would still keep the TFI in the heat sink though. I ran my car one time with the TFI out of the heat sink and in the engine compartment and the car barely ran when it got hot.

I see, also good point about the ground wire.