How did you get started working on cars?

• Sponsors (?)

Started tearing apart my mom's appliances when I was a kid in the 60's and it just kept going from there. Now, I'm a retired ASE Master Tech, ex-fleet manager, ex-shop owner, ex-engine builder, ex-car/bike builder with a few toys to keep me busy.

i got interested in cars when i was in jrhs in 1970 when i read about the then new datsun 240z. got interested in mustangs about 2 months later when i read an article about modding a mustangs suspension, and seeing the mustang with a worn out 289 outperform the 240z.

i started working on cars in high school when i took auto shop. one thing my parents always encouraged in me was self reliance, so i tend to do most of the work on my own cars.

My father bought my Mustang new in 68 and it was his daily driver until I turned 16 in 1981 when he gave it to me. Before I was out of high school I had converted it from an auto to a 4 spd, built a new engine, painted it in the garage and put a 31 spline 9" rear in after the original 8" blew up about an hour after I finished putting in the 4 speed. Glad I kept it...

about 2 hours after i got my first toy car i tore it apart and tried to put it back together, unfortunately it was promo model of an olds that my grandfather got at teh dealership he worked at...probably worth a mint today. pretty much teh same thing with every bicycle and go-kart thereafter and literally within a few minutes of getting my 1st car (my 69 GT) home i started tearing into it to do the needed maintenance that had been neglected by the po.

I wouldn't know where to start! Tearing apart toys when I was 4, building models when I was 5, rebuilding bicycles, mini-bikes, motorcycles, working in a gas station the day I was old enough, my first mustang in 1976 at the age of 16, MCA Tropies when I was 26 back in 1986, now crashing Cobras!

Only one auto shop class in the summer of my Sophmore year in High School.