How does tuning work?

GreyDiesel

Jul 26, 2008
Denver, CO
I am looking for an overall theory on the topic. Why does it work? What are the steps in the process? I have no experience with this at all. From what I gather, you buy a handheld computer gizmo, then download files from the internet, and upload them to your car, based on what modifications you have done. Is this correct? When a CAI is advertised to come with a tune, is that just the tune file, or the handheld gizmo? Can you upload the files with a laptop? Do the handheld gizmos come with files pre-loaded? What is mail-order tuning?

Thanks for any help.

• Sponsors (?)

Most performance websites will sell CAI and Handheld tuners as "kits" They usually start off around $550 advertised price.

As far as a tune goes, without getting into the "nitty gritty" Just to give you the basics your car's computer controls and analyzes/senses everything just about, nowadays.
It is programmed to work with certain factory parts for example an intake. the size of the intake effects the amount of air being sucked into the engine. You have MAF sensor that tells the computer hwo much ect. ect.

The computer "control" is a good way to restrict/control performance and safeguard the engine and prolong the life of the car. How every you are limiting what could take place.

Now when you start changing/modding out parts sensors start to detect the changes in things like airflow, exhaust flow, O@ sensors get weird reading. When thsi happens teh computer detects it and thinks something it worng and Check engine lights go off and the car's computer may not adjust things like fuel properly because it is adapting to what the sensors are telling it.