How much worse is gas milage on a GT compared to base model.

sadsquared

Oct 25, 2004
How much worse is gas milage on a GT compared to base model?

My parents gave me a budget of 20k to buy my new car. I know a GT will never be that low.... but that won't stop me from trying to get one. Like I say, "Go big or go home!" :p

Only thing that might be a big factor of me not getting GT is gas milage. My parents are really uptight about the gas prices down here in CA. So I need to know, is upgrading to GT going to make things alot worse on gas?

Thanks for the help

-geoff

• Sponsors (?)

From my experience, the V8 gets a lot worse gas mileage if you actually make regular use of the V8's power. :D But, isn't that the purpose of having a V8 under the hood? :rolleyes:

I guess if one never rev the V8 over 2K, and keep it in 5th 99% of the time, the mileage would be close to the V6. But I have no personal experience with that.

i'd rather have an 04gt than an 05 v6. search the papers fri when the ads come out. you can get an 04 gt leftover now for 18 grand.

however, general rule about gas milaege, if you have to ask, then you already know the answer.

anyone who tells you the difference is negligable is stretching the truth. Sure my fox body gt can get 27 on the highway, but do I ever ****ing drive it like that?? no way in hell, I average 13-16. with a newer mustang you may average a little more, but I know few people who are willing to stay out of the throttle just for a few more mpg's

RICKS said:
The difference in fuel mileage, no big deal........compared to the difference in INSURANCE. Have you even pondered that hurdle?

Good point on insurance!

Regarding gas mileage, I've never got less then 20-21 mpg with my 04, and that's spending a day at the track with 15-20 runs plus driving to and from.
Damn cheap car for going to the track.

So, if it costs you 500/yr more in gas by owning a GT, itsn't that worth the additional fun factor?

Parents, Budget, 20K?