How to tell if 66 fastback is a true GT

66bullitt

Jul 17, 2011
Hi, how do i tell if this recent purchase 66 fastback is a true gt car?

Also I was told the car has a 289 K code engine in it. Doubt It, :eek: but curious.

I have a lot of engine #s and engine part #s
Could this be an engine block that was just built to K code specs, and what would the difference be, just the block or ???
It does have shelby heads and solid lifters in it.

• Sponsors (?)

Here are the markings, K code engine Questions

Block C5AE-6015E
Stamped 5E22 with engine id tag 5E
Vin# 5F09K717591
Crank 1M
Cylinder heads dated 5C18/5D28

Does this information help id the engine?

I'm not an expert, but I believe all the numbers you have provided are correct.

Other things I have been told to look for would be a small swatch of orange paint on the the rear face of the block. Orange paint may also be on the back end of the crank. The crank should have a "K" stamped on the next to last counter weight. The last counter weight may have a polish mark on it for Brinell testing. The rod bolts should also be 3/8 inch instead of 5/16.

Also look for a steering box with a "HCC-AX" tag.

My A code 66 had the HCC-AX box from the factory. Any V8 with the heavy-duty suspension would.

As for GT or not, the factory fog lamps, and 5-gauge dash would be a good indicator. Of course, a non-GT with deluxe interior would have it, too. Of course, a K code is much more desirable than a GT. Does the engine have all the HP bells and whistles?

My A code 66 had the HCC-AX box from the factory. Any V8 with the heavy-duty suspension would.

As for GT or not, the factory fog lamps, and 5-gauge dash would be a good indicator. Of course, a non-GT with deluxe interior would have it, too. Of course, a K code is much more desirable than a GT. Does the engine have all the HP bells and whistles?

in 66 all mustangs had the five dial instrument panel.