Instrument cluster light "bleed thru"

KaptKane

Jun 19, 2018
SW FL
Newbie here! Just bought this 88 GT. Take a look at the pic of my instruments at night with the lights on. There appears to be a strange "bleed thru" of greenish light on the Tach side.
I'd like to swap a 140mph Speedo into it anyway. From what I read on here tho, it looks like only the 88/89 Speedos (and cluster) will work. The newer ones requires some modification?
I appreciate any and all help. If you have a cluster I could use, please let me know.
Also thinking of doing a LED dash lite conversion while I have it out. Thoughts?
Thanks,
Kane
IMG_2153(1).jpg

• Sponsors (?)

Never seen that before. Fixing that would be difficult. The black part is glued to the plastic that the light shines through. You could put a LED strip above the cluster ( shining down on it ) paint the needles with reflective paint and have a decent looking cluster. Just take out all the bulbs and wire the LED strip to the dash light wire.

Just follow the grid on the plastic printed circuit behind the cluster. From the bulbs to the connector. There will be a power wire at one end and a ground wire at the other.

Sorry, cant remember the colors.

Never seen that before. Fixing that would be difficult. The black part is glued to the plastic that the light shines through. You could put a LED strip above the cluster ( shining down on it ) paint the needles with reflective paint and have a decent looking cluster. Just take out all the bulbs and wire the LED strip to the dash light wire.

Just follow the grid on the plastic printed circuit behind the cluster. From the bulbs to the connector. There will be a power wire at one end and a ground wire at the other.

Sorry, cant remember the colors.

Thanks for your input on that.
I'm kinda leaning towards changing the complete cluster out if/when I find the right one. Somebody has to have one (That I can afford).
Novel idea tho...using a LED strip. Hadn't thought of that!
Kane