Intro

rrbrucea

Jul 31, 2009
North Carolina
Hey all, I'm a newbie here. My step-daughters just inherited their dad's '67 coupe. 289 3 speed and red on red. Not a bad car, but it's been neglected mechanically.

Hope y'all can put up with a bunch of questions while I get this thing sorted out.

Is the only way to post pics by using a photo host like PhotoBucket or something?add pics

• Sponsors (?)

Here's some pics. It was pretty dusty from sitting out and the engine is a total greaseball. Right now the game plan is to get it reliable and hit some of the local cruise nights with it. Eventually want to do a whole new interior and rebuild things as necessary--front end, engine, etc.

Mustang4.jpg

Mustang5.jpg

Mustang8.jpg

Mustang289.jpg

That looks like a good Mustang to start with. Hopefully, you can get the mechanical bugs worked out. Whats the list of things actually wrong with it right now?

As far as the peeing on the garage floor, it may just be as simple as installing an overflow tank / coolant recovery tank. These classic Mustangs didn't come with them. That may be all that is really going on.

If it has sat for years, the gas tank is probably needing to be replaced. Thats not a hard project and its only about 100 bucks.

thats a much better base than what I started with, its a nice car...though at this point the engine probably needs to be gone through with a rebuild(mainly to replace all those leaky 40 year old gaskets) rebuilds really arent difficult, but they are tedious....but all that is down the road...start with the puking radiator issue and work from there

The radiator definitely has a leak, I can see it at the bottom of the core. Did these cars all come with radiator shrouds? If so, it's missing.

The other frustrations are all four window regulators are acting up. I THINK I have the driver's door pretty well straightened out, so only three more to go! :D