Is this a ok starter welder?

• Sponsors (?)

what kind of work will you be doing with this? exhaust and maybe subframes? if so, invest $119 into harbor freight's 90amp flux core gasless mig welder, i've had one for about 3 years now and have done all my hand made exhausts with it if i couldn't weld it at work. Stick welding can be difficult, but doable (with practice) depending on what rod is used. But i'd start out with a MIG or flux cored MIG first.

And yes, im a professional TIG welder, been there done that with everything from oxy-fuel welding to TIG.

same here, i've been tested in everything from oxy-fuel to tig (though im not the best at welding aluminum lol) and would say that getting a small FCAW machine would be your best bet. however, SMAW is a little better to work with imo, no slag to chip off and the welds turn out a lot cleaner.

what kind of work will you be doing with this? exhaust and maybe subframes? if so, invest $119 into harbor freight's 90amp flux core gasless mig welder, i've had one for about 3 years now and have done all my hand made exhausts with it if i couldn't weld it at work. Stick welding can be difficult, but doable (with practice) depending on what rod is used. But i'd start out with a MIG or flux cored MIG first.

And yes, im a professional TIG welder, been there done that with everything from oxy-fuel welding to TIG.

will this work well and give nice clean welds? I was thikning about getting it but I figured it was junk... Just save my money and get a Lincoln. My dad used to be a pipeline welder for Sunoco, and thats all he has or ever used. He Has a little lincoln mig welder (110?) and loves using it around the shop.

a good solid wire or Flux cored machine. alot of machines can interchange to solid wire or FC.