Job Search - Maybe you can help

Ok, short background story on me:

I graduated with honors in May from the Savannah College of Art and Design with a BFA degree in Industrial Design. Two months after graduation, I landed a sick job at a toy design firm about 25 minutes from my house. I worked there for almost 3 months, and a week before the 3 month mark, I was let go for what I assume was business reasons since I was doing everything perfectly and I worked my a*s off. Since I was still within the 3 month trial period, they didn't have to tell me why they let me go. I really enjoyed this job and I was making pretty good money considering I just graduated.

For the last month and a half I've applied to probably 20 places in the NY/NJ/PA/CT area that interested me, and despite me following up all the time, there has been no response from most of the companies. I know it hasn't been that long that I've been unemployed but I'm definitely in a rut and I feel pretty useless. I wake up late, search for jobs, then have nothing to do for the day so I keep myself busy with little projects and spend way too much time on the forums.

The reason why I posted this on here to to possibly try and network with people in the area who might work in the field or know people who do. As most of us on this site are, I'm pretty much obsessed with cars and I'd love nothing more than to work in some sort of automotive design/fabrication job. I do understand that it is nearly impossible to get into that field, but I always keep it in the back of my head. As long as I was making decent money, I'd even love to do stereo system fabrication and custom fabrication/design on cars. I am trained in sketching, 3D modeling, fabrication and model building, welding, metal and machine work, and some graphic design.

If you do anything similar, or know anyone that does, please let me know. I need a job, and I need to keep the creative juices flowin!!!

• Sponsors (?)