Late model Junkyard parts for 66 restoration

I appologise in advance if there is a perfect thread that already answers this question, if so please direct me to it.

So I am restoring a 1966 convertible and I am thinking about updating suspension, brakes and wheels, while generally keeping the rest of the car classic. Maybe I will put in modern seats... still not sure.

I know that there are aftermarket kits for all of this stuff, but I was hoping to do this project on a budget.

I was curious what experience people have had with pulling components from late model mustangs or other cars to update the handling and braking of classics. What vehicles should I be looking for in junkyards? what components lend themselves to modern replacement and what parts should just be replaced with aftermarket components.

I am an engineer and I am pretty well skilled with welding and fabricating so I am not afraid to move a mounting points and the like, but I would like to avoid opening a can of worms unnecessarily as well.

I appreciate any help.

-Layne

• Sponsors (?)

What are you starting with? 6 or 8, drum or disc, std or automatic, what rear end? Where do you want to end up, weekend driver, car show trailer queen, 1/4 mile car, daily driver? And approx. where are you, Nevada dessert or Michigan winters?

Hi Worth, thanks for the reply. Great questions.

The car is a 66 convertible sprint 6 with a C4 transmission, 4 lug wheels and an 8 inch rear end.

I would like to make it a daily driver with an emphasis on reliability safety and stability. I am not so concerned with it being fast as I am for it being safe and stable. This is why I am thinking about suspension and brakes.

My wife will be the one driving it most.

I wouldn’t mind swapping the rear end and spindles to turn it into a 5 lug setup, but I am not set on doing it unless it is really necessary to get solid reliable braking.