Looking for advice/info on '88 GT I'm looking to buy.

wildswing

Aug 6, 2004
Soo, Canada
Hi fellas,

I'm a newbie here in the 5.0 forum. This a kinda long, but it takes some 'splainin and I've tried to include as many questions as I can think of right now...

THE SET UP:

I'm looking for a Fox body for a daily summer driver that may possibly become more of a ground pounder later on.

Lately, I have been eyeballing a 1988 GT for sale locally (I'm in the Soo). The current owner is just a casual seller. Doesn't really want to sell it but needs to make room for a new project. Real car nut. Garage currently has the GT, a late 60s Cougar, a wild supercharged Fiero and someting else under a tarp. Says he bought the GT about a year ago from a fella in Thunder Bay who babied it. Never winter driven and says it's been oil sprayed every fall.

- 5.0 HO 5 spd hatchback with 155k kms (93k miles).
- No significant rust anywhere. Even the rockers and sills are blister free. All original paint except for a poorly done touch up on the rear left quarter.
- I took it for a drive. No creaks or rattles. Engine feels healthy and gearbox is smooth. I can't feel any slip in the clutch.
- He's asking $5500. Looking at online ads in Auto Trader for Ontario, that seems to be about right.
- underbody/undercarriage is free of the corn flakes type rusty leprosy common to cars around here that have not been taken care of and winter driven (like my truck). There's just the slightest hint of surface rust on parts underneath.
- I do see a bit of an oil leak from the driver's side valve cover, there's some build up on the steering rack and the rear end looks wet, but that might be oil spray, maybe.