Looking to buy a vintage stang

Ghost347

Founding Member
Oct 11, 2002
Va Beach, VA
I've been into late model mustangs for a few years now. Really not much of a take apart guy but can do some things and what I can't I have a good shop that does great work for a good price. I've been driving a 94 Cobra for the last three years now and frankly I'm looking for something different. My uncle has offered to me the opportunity to buy his 64 convertible for $8,000. First off, is this a worth while price or not. Secondly what should I look for when looking the car over? Things that usually would be either worn or failing? The car looks to be in excellent condition, fresh paint, 69,000 original miles... Anyone help out a clueless late model owner? :D

• Sponsors (?)

How can you forget the floorpans! The cowl is probably the biggest one, though. That's a MAJOR PITA to fix. There is a pretty good Mustang club in Tidewater. I would try to get in touch with them, go to a meeting, and maybe get one of the classic guys to stop by and take a look.

Edit: Oh yeah, what engine/tranny combo does it have, that will matter too.

Yeah, my cowl vent is rusted out. Everytime it rains my feet get wet. Everytime i wash my car I have to clean out the pool of water off my floor. It really sucks. Its also pretty expensive if you have someone do it for you. I would fix it but Im po'

Roger, I'll check the cowl. Do you know the name of the tidewater car club and how I might reach them. Also he said that it's a 260 F code auto. I understand the "Auto" part but can someone decipher the rest?

Try these two, I've been out of Tidewater for several years so I'm not sure which one will suit your needs the best.

http://www.geocities.com/mustangcluboftidewater/page-1.html

http://www.sevmc.org/index.htm