Mustang Clutch Problem?

stang8384

Jan 18, 2017
NY
89 mustang gt all stock t5 60k miles.

Hello!

I am new to driving stick shift so unfortunately I'm still learning to be smooth and the proper way to shift. I am also not very mechanically inclined!

At times it tough get into gear, mostly 1st and 3rd gear. I've read that the t5 isn't the best tranny as it is and with a novice driver like myself, I'm not sure what is normal and what is not. Is there easy way to test what my issue can be? I've done research and found many different possibilities. Clutch, clutch cable, synchros?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Scott

Reactions: 1 user
  • Sponsors (?)

Hi,
The easiest thing I can think to start with would be adjusting the cable. Been awhile since I've had a fox,but I think(others will correct me if wrong.) as long as it has the stock quadrant and cable-you should be able to pull the clutch pedal all the way up until it clicks, and that removes slack.
I would recommend since you are on this site to search for quadrant adjustment,clutch cable adjustment etc. a lot of useful threads/info in this community . Good luck and give updates

I'm going to start by saying the the wc t5 actually is a pretty good unit. It can take a fair amount of abuse if you know what you are doing. Tough to get in gear is usually badly worn syncros. I'm going to take a shot in the dark and guess that it randomly pops out of gear under throttle as well. Start with the advice above. There could be a good chance that your cable isn't getting enough movement to engage the clutch. If this only happens in only a couple gears then the cable likely isn't your problem.
A bandaid fix to this is to try a premium gear box oil such as redline mt or royal purple. If the issue diminishes it will buy you some time until you can replace it rebuild.