Need Help and Guidance

jsones35

Apr 5, 2011
Hello efveryone Im a new member my names Josh. Been looking at forums for awhile now and its getting easier to read and understand but not to know. I am new to wanting to work on cars and need a little help. I have a 1995 Ford Mustang GT. It has a little over 130000 miles on it. I guess the first thing I need to know is weather I need to just buy a new engine for it or get it rebuilt. Same with the transmission. I guess I can go from there.

• Sponsors (?)

welcome to the board. :cheers:

these engines can last a long time. you may not need a new engine.

the first thing to start with is the standard maintenance items ... new oil/plugs/fuel filter/rotor and cap/plug wires. also clean the sensor in the mass air meter.

does the car run? is it essentially stock?

Here is what I would do if I had just bought a used sn 5.0...and I would note it does not assume an engine replacement or tranny replacement... ;)

Disconnect the battery to start. This will avoid you frying electrical stuff and also reset the computer. Which will help with the last step I am going to recommend you to do.

I agree with the tune up items. Don't forget the fuel filter. People tend to skip it because it is slightly more difficult to do, but you really need to change it so you know it is good.

Now I don't know your particular level of knowledge. Perhaps when someone says "clean the MAF" they may as well be speaking in Chinese...but, maybe you know exactly what that is...

So, at risk of sounding like I think you are an idiot...which I do not...but just so you know...