new and just got a new stang gt

tstang21

Apr 14, 2008
hi. im new to the mustang world. i just purchased a 94 gt. runs good but needs a tune up like plug/wires,cap. i got for a good price though. has a few minor mishaps. the seats are not moving. (could be the motor), and speedo/odometer stopped working. i might need to get a new cable. overall the car is in good shape. if anyone could give some help, will appreciate.

thanks

• Sponsors (?)

The speedo/odometers don't work via cable on our cars, they run via the VSS (vehicle speed sensor) on the transmission. But first, I would check all the fuses under the dash. You likely have a couple of blown fuses that are keeping your cluster lights and seat from working.

One step at a time, let's get the simple things working first.

do a search for odometer and you'll find some posts regarding the R&R of the odometer gear. It also has the place you can order them from somewhere in those posts.

The dash light issue sounds like a fuse...grab a test light and poke each side of each fuse...both sides should light up. If not then you have a blown fuse. Or you could just find out which fuse powers the dash illumination and go straight for the fuse.

The seats could also be not moving because of a blown fuse. Chances are your motor's toast though. A blown fuse is kinda like turning a light switch that powers several outlets off.

Fuse 13 is the dimmer circuit.
There's an underhood fuse for the pwr seat and accessory outlets. If yours is blown, look for change (coins) inside one of the cig lighter receptacles. This causes a short.

Welcome and good luck!

the car itself has 95,xxx miles. black exterior with few scratches but no dents, tan interior in great shape, alarm, and upgraded stereo. the rest of the car is bone. no mods or nothing. clean engine bay. the only thing it has a short throw shifter.