New here: Thoughts on buying this 86’ Capri 5.0

mjt7

Apr 27, 2018
Illinois
Newbie here,

I am high schooler who likes American muscle cars. Will be getting a clean 97’ Tahoe in a year. Spotted this 1986 Capri 5.0 a few blocks from my house. I am interested in this car because my friend has a 93’ Fox. The car looks pretty clean, but it has been for sale for a few months. The car has 159,000 miles. The paint is actually clean, but the car is covered in dust. Do you guys think it is worth it and what do you think I could get it for (seller is asking 2,500)?

Thanks for any input

29561B41-9948-4B2B-A895-9DA253663870.jpeg
258F3D39-A70A-415F-99B7-A722EFAC18A1.jpeg
864AEA45-6C46-44F1-801F-BB7F3F482CA9.jpeg
0C27B3E3-4ECE-4839-9A87-AA989D9F5B2E.jpeg

• Sponsors (?)

Capris are super cool, and rare enough these days that you'd be in a somewhat exclusive owner's group if you got one. With that said, judging by the pictures and the fact that it's an Illinois car, that thing is almost definitely a rusty mess. You will likely not find a V8 Capri for that kind of money in the Midwest that's not a total disaster in one way or another. You should still look into this car just to see what the story is, but my advice to you is to shop for cars in the South- I would say no further North than Tennessee or Arkansas. Down there they use much less salt on the roads and you're much more likely to find a car of this age in the same price range without a lot of rust damage. Plus, you can make a fun road trip out of going to get the car with your old man or some buddies or whatever.

Reactions: 1 user
Thanks for the input. I will look at the car again next weekend to talk with the seller. Assuming that the car does run, are there any specific areas on the car where I should be looking for rust or damage? Also, would it be worth the buy considering I will be going off to college in a year and a half? Would it be possible to haggle the seller down to $500-$1000?