new owner - exhaust question

s1lver19

Feb 16, 2004
Just picked up my first mustang (2002 black v6, 19,000 miles).

I'm new to the stang world, looking to upgrade the stock exhaust. Just want to keep it single, nothing fancy.

Recommendations?

• Sponsors (?)

s1lver19 said:
Just picked up my first mustang (2002 black v6, 19,000 miles).

I'm new to the stang world, looking to upgrade the stock exhaust. Just want to keep it single, nothing fancy.

Recommendations?

Well with those as your qualifications, you have several options, all of which are get a new muffler, unless of course you want to get custom exhaust and leave it single which would make no sense.

Anyway, opinions vary on the kind of muffler to get, so just look around for exhaust clips and prices to see what you like best.

I'd reccomend just grab yourself a set of GT Take-off's....they sound good, and flow fairly well. The 02 has an improved induction and exhaust controller, so if you've heard an 01 or prior with GT Stock exhaust and werent happy, you will be pleasntly suprised with the difference. My 02 with the regular exhaust was louder than my friends 98 with the H pipe and flowmasters...but you should be happy with those. And they're fairly cheap. http://www.stangparts.com/home.cfm?section=products/index second to the bottm are the ones you'l lwant.

I'd reccomend just grab yourself a set of GT Take-off's....they sound good, and flow fairly well. The 02 has an improved induction and exhaust controller, so if you've heard an 01 or prior with GT Stock exhaust and werent happy, you will be pleasntly suprised with the difference. My 02 with the regular exhaust was louder than my friends 98 with the H pipe and flowmasters...but you should be happy with those. And they're fairly cheap.

Yeah those look good.

Is there anything else I need for the installation or just that kit?

I actually have about $800 to blow.