New to me 1988 GT Convertible.

lemosley1973

Doing something with a heavy tranny now
Feb 18, 2019
Clover, SC
I thought I had an account here years ago, but I guess not!

I just purchased a pretty much unmolested 1988 GT convertible. I'm relatively new to the fox/5.0 platform but not Mustangs having had a '96 GT, 99 Cobra, currently a 2003 Cobra. I had a turbo-swapped Fox for about a year, but didn't do much with it.

Known mods are xpipe + catback, bbk cai, bbk 70mm throttle body, Accel ignition (I think - used to dealing with newer platforms that don't have distributors), and it's lowered with 17" wheels on it (they look like 2003 Mach1 wheels). The clutch was just replaced with a Zoom clutch (or claimed; kind of hard to tell).

The first actual mod done by me will be full-length subframes. The interior is tired, window motor actuators are half dead, etc, so I'll be cleaning up the interior and trying to restore it proper 80s glory. I've just replaced the headlight switch and harness (it was burned from the foglights like probably every other GT ever built).

The clutch has a chirp until depressed. I assume this is a TOB problem (my Cobra has a chirp that goes away when the clutch pedal is depressed).

I'm not going to cut this car up - my plan is a nice, fun street car that I can drive without worries. I'd like to get to around 300HP while maintaining the stock look.

I have no idea what stock headers look like - are these stock?

20190302_200713.jpg

• Sponsors (?)

They claim 225 hp. 15 might be a little on the high side. I’ve heard 8-10. Mikestang might be right though. Let’s see some pics of the car.

Eh, headers were one of the first mods I did to my '88 when it was stock. I didn't notice anything. I don't think the factory headers are all that bad but if you gave a 2.5" catbanl and h pipe and other mods it might be a better gain.