Novice's Question

Stang4Geezer

Jun 23, 2016
I'm trying to get my 68 Mustang on the road. The car has been sitting for 30+ years so I'm going thru the whole car replacing what seems to be worn or ravaged by time. I am a novice at this and also new to Mustangs. I am working on the rear end and have the brakes, axles, seals, etc. out and now am wondering if I should pull out the differential and if so, what should I look for? I have no clue. Thanks for any advise you can give me.

• Sponsors (?)

I would do just as your doing, seals and brakes. Also check the front wheel bearings and repack them. Then I would change all the fluids crank it up and let it warm up and check for leaks then drive it around the block and see where your at. If it seems like its doing ok I would drive it down the road a bit. Definitely listen to things as you drive such as a noise from the rear bearings, unless you opt to replace the rear wheel bearings. Also you could get harmonic vibes due to a bad pinion bearing. Also replace the pinion seal. Not sure how likely that would be though. If you do drive it ease into it as it hasn't been driven in a while. Just driving it a bit may give you indications whether the hogs head should be pulled. But definitely change the lube in everything!

If you don't plan on driving it much you may want use DOT 5 brake fluid in the system. DOT 5 does not absorb water (A lot of car collectors use DOT 5 for that reason as the cars sit for a while) as it is silicone based but you must bleed the system slowly. If you bleed it like a system with DOT 3 or 4 you could induce air bubbles that will be hard to get out. If you plan on driving the car regularly (once or twice a week in traffic, to work etc.) I would use DOT 3 or 4