O/T But need help bad, anyone an electrician?

I'm in the garage the other night workin away and the damn lights go out. My compressor trips the circuit breaker a lot so I go to the box expecting that same circuit breaker to be tripped... No dice. None of the circuits are tripped, but everywhere else in the house is still getting juice.

I shut down the power and pull out the suspect circuit breaker and behind it looks like a little explosion happened, so I figure I blew up the breaker. Go to Lowes get a replacement wired it up and pop it in... Still nothing. So out comes the multimeter, I am no electrician, but I am damn near positive I am getting juice through the suspect circuit. I test all the circuits and they all seem to be getting power. It is one of the GFI cicuits so it has the test button, it tests out fine.

Does this mean I have a short circuit in the house somewhere? Broken wire?

This is killing me not having power to my garage... Please help!!! :bang:

• Sponsors (?)

do you have a secondary breaker box for the garage? if so check there for a tripped breaker. also remember that you have to turn a breaker off then turn it back on. sometimes it gives no indication that it has tripped.

... My compressor trips the circuit breaker a lot ... It is one of the GFI cicuits so it has the test button, it tests out fine. ...

I ended up figuring it out last night. The GFI outlet in the garage that I thought I had reset apparently wasn't. I just needed to really lean on the reset button, problem solved.

Uhm, is the GFI outlet connected to the circuit breaker that trips alot? If so:

A. The GFI is trash, as it should trip before the breaker.
B. You should seriously consider updating your garage to 20A.

Uhm, is the GFI outlet connected to the circuit breaker that trips alot? If so:

A. The GFI is trash, as it should trip before the breaker.
B. You should seriously consider updating your garage to 20A.